PCI compliant phone payments, from one shop phone to a contact center
Published
A phone order is a card payment like any other, and the Council says so plainly: “PCI DSS requirements apply across all payment-acceptance channels, including mail order/telephone order (MOTO).” The trouble with the phone is how many places one spoken card number can land: the agent's ears, the screen they type into, the call recorder, a notepad by the till.
This page compares 3 services built to keep card numbers off a contact center's line, on one question: does card data ever reach your people, your network or your recordings? Every cell comes from the vendor's own site or the Council's telephone guidance, read on 2026-10-22. Taking a few orders on one shop phone? Go straight to the phone setup picker or the single-line routes.

The services side by side
Each row is something the Council's telephone guidance or PCI DSS asks about, phrased as a buyer would ask it. “Ask the vendor” means the vendor's own pages did not say so when we read them. It does not mean no.
Swipe sideways for more vendors
| What you need | PCI Pal | Eckoh | Sycurio |
|---|---|---|---|
| Caller keys the card in, the agent hears flat tonesPhone supp. 6.4.1 | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Caller can say the card number to speech recognitionPhone supp. 6.4.2 | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Agent stays on the call while the customer paysPhone supp. 6.2.1 | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Keeps card data out of your call recordingsReq. 3.3.1 | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Runs a self-service payment line (IVR)Phone supp. 6.4.2 | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Sends a payment link the customer opens on their own devicePhone supp. 6.3 | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Sells call recording with card data redactedPhone supp. 7.2.6 | Ask the vendor | Yes | Ask the vendor |
| Says it is a PCI DSS Level 1 service providerReq. 12.8.4 | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Says it gives you its AOC and who-does-what listReq. 12.8.4, 12.8.5 | Ask the vendor | Ask the vendor | Ask the vendor |
On the core job the services look alike: keypad masking, spoken card capture, an IVR and payment links. They part on the edges. On the pages we read, only Eckoh showed a call recorder of its own. None of them says it hands customers its Attestation of Compliance and a list of who manages which requirement, so ask each one.
Service by service
PCI Pal
Keypad masking, speech capture and payment links that sit beside a cloud contact center.
FitsTeams on a cloud phone or contact center platform
Keypad maskingYes
Payment IVRYes
Redacted call recordingAsk the vendor
Not stated on their site when read on 2026-10-22.
Level 1 service providerYes
Hands you its AOCAsk the vendor
Not stated on their site when read on 2026-10-22.
PCI Pal says it “was built for the cloud from day one” and “works with all leading CCaaS, UCaaS, CPaaS, and payment platforms.” Its Key to Pay page says payments run through “PCI Pal's Level 1 PCI DSS environment,” and its home page says it is “listed on the Visa Global Registry of Service Providers as a PCI DSS validated service provider.”
Asked whether keypad tones end up in call recordings, its own answer is “No.” The pages we read showed no call recorder of its own, so you keep the recorder you have.
VerdictBest for a cloud phone system
Eckoh
Voice payments (CallGuard), a payment IVR, payment links and its own call recorder.
FitsContact centers that want payments and recording from one firm
Keypad maskingYes
Payment IVRYes
Redacted call recordingYes
Level 1 service providerYes
Hands you its AOCAsk the vendor
Not stated on their site when read on 2026-10-22.
Eckoh says it has been “Certified as a PCI DSS Level 1 Service Provider for over 16 years.” With CallGuard, “the customer enters their card details using their phone keypad or by speaking them aloud,” and the numbers show “only as asterisks on the agent's screen.”
Its recorder “Automatically redacts sensitive data from call recordings,” and CallGuard says it covers “hybrid and remote working agent environments” too.
VerdictBest for payments plus redacted recording
Sycurio
Sycurio.Voice for agent calls, an IVR payment add-on and Sycurio.Digital links.
FitsOrganizations with an IVR they want to keep
Keypad maskingYes
Payment IVRYes
Redacted call recordingAsk the vendor
Not stated on their site when read on 2026-10-22.
Level 1 service providerYes
Hands you its AOCAsk the vendor
Not stated on their site when read on 2026-10-22.
Sycurio says it “integrates seamlessly with your existing IVR” and that card data goes “to your payment processor through Sycurio's PCI DSS Level 1 Service Provider certified infrastructure.” Its certifications page adds that it “maintains Level 1 Visa Merchant Agent status” on Visa's registry.
Its DTMF masking fact sheet says masking keeps card data out of “your contact center agent's environment (or recordings, desktop, etc.)”, and calls masking “superior” to pause-and-resume.
VerdictBest for adding payments to an existing IVR
These services sit in front of a payment processor rather than replacing one. If you are still choosing the processor, the payment gateway comparison judges each by the SAQ it leaves you on.
Which phone setup are you?
Answer for one ordinary phone order. The receipt shows where the card number lands and the questionnaire that points to, with the rule behind it.
Your phone setup
Staff hear the cardYes
Your systemsOne isolated computer
Your recordingsOut only if every pause works
SAQ C-VT is for merchants who key one card at a time into a PCI DSS validated third-party virtual terminal, on an isolated computer with a securely connected browser, and store nothing electronically.
SAQ Instructions v4.0.1 r1, pp. 4, 13, 19
Check this: No card reader may be attached to that computer, and it must not connect to your other systems.
Check this: Pause-and-resume can take the recorder out of scope, never the agent or the desktop. The Council suggests checking recordings for card data regularly, preferably weekly. One missed pause puts card data in storage.
Likely formSAQ C-VT
Confirm it with your acquirer before you file.
The picker covers phone orders only. If you also sell online or at a counter, run all your channels through the SAQ type finder.
What each method takes out of scope
The Council's information supplement on telephone payments sorts the methods by what they remove. Its goal for all of them: “SAD is never stored after the transaction is authorized, and account data is secured and/or removed from systems and storage.” Read across a row to see what still needs PCI DSS controls.
Swipe sideways for every part
| Method | Agent | Agent's desktop | Call recorder | Phone system |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pause-and-resume recordingPhone supp. 6.5.1 | Stays in | Stays in | Can be out | Stays in |
| Keypad masking, off your premisesPhone supp. 6.4.1.1 | Can be out | Can be out | Can be out | Can be out |
| Keypad masking, on your premisesPhone supp. 6.4.1.2 | Can be out | Can be out | Can be out | Stays in |
| Payment IVRPhone supp. 6.4.2 | Can be out | Can be out | Depends | Depends |
| Payment linkPhone supp. 6.3 | Can be out | Depends | Can be out | Can be out |
| Secure payment roomPhone supp. 6.5.3 | Stays in | Stays in | Depends | Depends |
Can be out: the Council says a properly built setup can take that part out of scope, once you have checked it. Stays in: it does not. Depends: on how and where it is set up.
Call recording and the security code
Recording is where most phone setups fail. The Council's telephone guidance accepts that “local laws or regulation may require call recordings to be retained for a number of years,” so the recorder often cannot simply be switched off. PCI DSS does not bend for it. Requirement 3.3.1: “SAD is not stored after authorization, even if encrypted.” Sensitive authentication data covers the card verification code, full track data, PINs and PIN blocks, and 3.3.1.2 names the code on its own: “The card verification code is not stored upon completion of the authorization process.”
So a caller reading out the three- or four-digit code printed on the card puts data on the recorder that has to go. The Council is blunt: if pause-and-resume “cannot block the audio or video from being stored, the sensitive authentication data (SAD) MUST BE DELETED from the recording as soon as the transaction is processed.” The card number itself may stay only if “PAN is rendered unreadable anywhere it is stored” (Requirement 3.5.1), which the supplement says includes “voice and screen recordings.” A recording that holds card numbers is also electronic storage, which no SAQ short of SAQ D allows.
Masking changes the recorder's job. Recordings that hold “only flat tones that cannot be converted back to the original data” do not need to be made unreadable, and when card data is masked before it is recorded, “a non-PCI DSS recording service may suffice.” If the security code truly cannot be kept off your recordings, the Council says to discuss it with your acquirer, and the recordings “must not be able to be queried.” Encryption alone does not achieve that. Its example steps:
If the code cannot be kept off the recorder
- aRemove call recordings from the call-recording solution, so deleted ones cannot be recovered.
- bTake the call recordings offline, on a system not connected to the network or on offline media.
- cPhysically secure the call recordings, for example in a safe or a restricted area.
- dEnforce dual-access controls to the call recordings.
- eAllow only single call recordings to be retrieved, or only as a senior manager authorizes.
- fAssign responsibility for each retrieved recording, and securely delete it when no longer needed.
SourcePhone supp. D.2.3
One phone, no call center
Most shops that take a card over the phone have one line and whoever picks up. The Council's guidance is reassuring about the line itself: “Generally speaking, entities are not considered responsible for the transmission of card data over an external traditional telephone line.” That changes once the number is kept or the call runs over VoIP. If staff write the number down or an answering machine takes it, that “would be considered ‘storage,’” and the desk is in scope. And on a VoIP phone, “the entity's systems and networks used for those transmissions are in scope.”
Where the number goes next decides the questionnaire. The main routes, as the SAQ Instructions describe them for phone orders:
Phone order routes
- Typed into a virtual terminalSAQ C-VT
- Keyed into a listed P2PE terminalSAQ P2PE
- Keyed into a standalone terminalSAQ B or B-IP
- Typed into till software onlineSAQ C
- Taken by a third-party phone serviceSAQ A
- Card numbers kept on a computerSAQ D
Confirm withyour acquirer
A virtual terminal is the usual answer, and SAQ C-VT is written for it: “Merchants that manually enter payment account data a single transaction at a time via a keyboard into a PCI DSS validated and compliant third-party virtual payment terminal solution, with an isolated computing device and a securely connected web browser. No electronic account data storage.” No card reader may be attached to that computer. The virtual terminal comparison sets the providers side by side.
Stripe's phone-order section (“Supporting MOTO (Mail Order/Telephone Order) Payments”) maps the same ground for its own users: SAQ A for a pay connector where card data is collected by “a PCI-compliant third-party solution” and “the user should not have access to the card data”; SAQ C-VT when MOTO card data is “directly entered into the Stripe Dashboard”; SAQ D for “electronic storage of cardholder data within their environment.” It also says Dashboard entry is “for exceptional circumstances only, not routine payment processing.”
The route most shops miss is the terminal already on the counter. The Council's own example: a phone-order merchant “could be eligible for SAQ P2PE if they receive account data on paper or over a telephone, and key it directly and only into payment terminal from a validated PCI-listed P2PE solution.” Only a solution on the Council's list counts; our P2PE guide explains the list. Among the processors on this site, these were listed when we read it:
On the Council's P2PE list, 2026-10-22
- StripeStripe Terminal P2PE
- PayPal (Braintree)PayPal Braintree In-Person
- PayPal POS (formerly Zettle)Zettle by PayPal P2PE
- CloverClover
Listings shown4
What to ask before you sign
Every service in the table says it keeps card data away from you. The proof is in the answers to these questions, in writing. Requirement 12.8.4 also asks you to check each provider's PCI DSS status “at least once every 12 months,” so keep the replies.
Questions for the provider
- Will you send your Attestation of Compliance, and a list of which PCI DSS requirements you manage and which stay ours?Req. 12.8.4, 12.8.5
- Does the masking run in your network, or on a device on our premises?Phone supp. 6.4.1.1
- How do you stop DTMF bleed, the first moment of a key press reaching the agent?Phone supp. 6.4.1
- Can an agent skip the secure payment step and take the card by voice?Phone supp. 6.5.1
- Can our agents or their desktops see or retrieve the card data at any point?Phone supp. 6.4.2
- What exactly lands in our call and screen recordings?Phone supp. 5.2.6
- Do you connect to our processor, or do we have to change processor?Req. 12.8.1
Questions7
Questions
Can you take card payments over the phone and stay PCI compliant?
Yes. The standard covers the phone like any other channel: “PCI DSS requirements apply across all payment-acceptance channels, including mail order/telephone order (MOTO).” What changes is the questionnaire, and that depends on where the card number goes after the caller says it. The phone setup picker above walks through it, and the SAQ type finder covers your other channels too.
Is PCI compliant call recording possible?
Yes, if the card details never reach the recorder, or if they are handled under the standard when they do. The security code cannot stay: “SAD is not stored after authorization, even if encrypted” (Requirement 3.3.1). A card number kept in a recording must be unreadable, because “PAN is rendered unreadable anywhere it is stored” (3.5.1), and keeping it is electronic storage, which points to SAQ D. Masking keeps the digits off the recording in the first place.
Is pause-and-resume enough on its own?
It protects the recorder, not the rest. The Council says it can take “the call-recording and storage systems out of scope,” but “does not reduce PCI DSS applicability to the agent, the agent desktop environment, or any other systems in the telephone environment.” If an agent can bypass it, the Council warns it “could be circumvented and rendered ineffective.”
What is DTMF masking?
DTMF tones are the sounds a phone keypad makes, and the Council notes “anyone with the right equipment can convert the tones back to the original digits or characters.” Masking replaces them with flat sounds before they reach the agent or the recorder. “To be effective, the sound replacing the original DTMF tone must not be linked to it.” Some setups let the first moment of a tone slip through, which the Council calls “DTMF bleed.”
Is a payment IVR PCI compliant?
An IVR moves the payment away from the agent. “When properly implemented, an unattended transaction solution could reduce applicability of PCI DSS requirements to the agent and agent desktop environment.” The IVR itself handles the card, so whoever runs it carries that scope. The Council notes that businesses may choose to “outsource their payment processing to an IVR solution provider to reduce or remove the presence of account data” in their own environment.
Can staff write card numbers down during a call?
The Council treats it as storage, which brings the desk into scope. The security code may not be kept: “The card verification code is not stored upon completion of the authorization process” (Requirement 3.3.1.2). Paper with card data is “cross-cut shredded, incinerated, or pulped” once it is no longer needed (9.4.6). Our guide to storing credit card information covers the rest.
We take a few phone orders a week. Do we need a contact center service?
Probably not. A virtual terminal or a terminal on the P2PE list covers most small shops. The Council also offers the simplest option: for “organizations that receive very small volumes of telephone payments and perhaps already have a secure alternative payment channel,” not taking card payments by phone at all “may provide a simple solution.”
Sources
- PCI SSC: Information Supplement, Protecting Telephone-Based Payment Card Data, v3.0 (November 2018) (docs-prv.pcisecuritystandards.org), read on 2026-10-22
- PCI SSC: Document library (Telephone-Based Payments) (pcisecuritystandards.org), read on 2026-10-22
- PCI SSC: SAQ Instructions and Guidelines, PCI DSS v4.0.1 r1 (April 2025) (docs-prv.pcisecuritystandards.org), read on 2026-10-22
- PCI SSC: Prioritized Approach Tool for PCI DSS v4.0.1 (Requirements 3.3.1, 3.3.1.2, 3.5.1, 9.4.6, 12.8.1, 12.8.4, 12.8.5) (docs-prv.pcisecuritystandards.org), read on 2026-10-22
- PCI SSC: Glossary (sensitive authentication data, card verification code) (pcisecuritystandards.org), read on 2026-10-22
- PCI SSC: Validated P2PE solutions list (pcisecuritystandards.org), read on 2026-10-22
- Stripe: PCI compliance guide (Supporting MOTO payments) (stripe.com), read on 2026-10-22
- Stripe: PCI compliance for Stripe Terminal (SAQ C, pre-filled SAQ P2PE) (support.stripe.com), read on 2026-10-22
- PCI Pal: Home (Visa Global Registry listing) (pcipal.com), read on 2026-10-22
- PCI Pal: Key to Pay (pcipal.com), read on 2026-10-22
- PCI Pal: Speak to Pay (pcipal.com), read on 2026-10-22
- PCI Pal: Click to Pay (pcipal.com), read on 2026-10-22
- Eckoh: Home (eckoh.com), read on 2026-10-22
- Eckoh: CallGuard secure voice payments (eckoh.com), read on 2026-10-22
- Eckoh: Payment IVR (eckoh.com), read on 2026-10-22
- Eckoh: Digital payments (eckoh.com), read on 2026-10-22
- Eckoh: Secure call recording (eckoh.com), read on 2026-10-22
- Eckoh: Trust center (eckoh.com), read on 2026-10-22
- Sycurio: Call center PCI compliance (Sycurio.Voice) (sycurio.com), read on 2026-10-22
- Sycurio: IVR payments (sycurio.com), read on 2026-10-22
- Sycurio: Digital payment solutions (sycurio.com), read on 2026-10-22
- Sycurio: DTMF masking for PCI DSS compliance fact sheet (sycurio.com), read on 2026-10-22
- Sycurio: Security certifications (sycurio.com), read on 2026-10-22